PDA

View Full Version : Unlock your Mio GPS with MioPocket



WildRide450
20th May 2008, 05:22 AM
If you're tired of the standard features that come with the current Mio GPS units, there's a program that will let you unlock your Mio making it more like a PDA and allows you to customize it with the applications that you need. You can run any application on an unlocked Mio as long as it's Win CE based.

Here's a screenshot of an unlocked Mio C520..

http://www.netfresco.com/MioPocket/VistaUltimateGuide.jpg

To unlock your Mio..

1. Download MioPocket from here (http://rapidshare.com/files/114629820/MioPocket_2.0_Release_20.zip)

2. Decide whether you want MioPocket to always run from your SD card (SD-Card) or from the internal storage (SD-Free). The main advantage of MioPocket running from the SD card is that it leaves more room for spplications that you want/need to run from the internal storage. Also, MioPocket will work for devices with little or no room on the internal storage. SD-Free installation means that you can pull the SD card out and MioPocket will still function normally because all the necessary files are copied to the internal storage. This allows you to insert another card with media like music or video.

3. To install MioPocket, open the archive and read the MioPocket Readme.txt file.

After installing MioPocket, you can customize it to run other applications like navigation software, games and utilities. I'm no expert but i'll try to help with any problems regarding installation and customizing.

Have fun,

WildRide450.

PS- Thanks to Osprey of GPSPassion forums and everyone else that worked on MioPocket to make it what it is today.

The Explorer
25th September 2008, 08:49 PM
I think the first post of this thread on gpspassion always has updated link to latest version of miopocket

http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=109690

Cheers
Greg

fred4x4
27th September 2008, 06:29 AM
there is also version 2.0 release 25 that has much more on it including Beeline for geocaching

The Explorer
27th September 2008, 09:27 AM
there is also version 2.0 release 25 that has much more on it including Beeline for geocaching

Yes work in progress Currently V2 R28.

Also I notice Mio520's have apparently been discontinued - Moovs (300 series) are now the latest model. Bad thing is they only have 2.5 hrs battery life compared to 520/720 which had ~5hrs. Bummer

Greg

original_muse
28th September 2008, 07:48 AM
Does anybody know if the MioPocket software works on the new Moov range and has it been tested?

The Explorer
28th September 2008, 09:02 AM
Does anybody know if the MioPocket software works on the new Moov range and has it been tested?

Apparently it works....

Cut from gps passion thread listed above...

Which devices does MioPocket run on?
MioPocket should run on most Mio-brand devices and can run on certain non-Mio brands. Due to the great number of included programs/features and the wide range of models that MioPocket can run on, not quite everything will work on every single model. To just give a general idea of what to expect...

c320 and c520: everything should work as intended

c620, c720, c310x, c510 and c710: nearly everything should work

c220, c230 and all Moov models: most things should work... potential for small non-critical issues

c250, 268+, h610 and some non-Mio models: known to work, but expect some issues/

Cheers
Greg

original_muse
28th September 2008, 09:56 AM
Many thanks for the quick response Greg.

I have been wondering about compatibility ever since the new models were announced.

Newbie Explorer
28th September 2008, 01:10 PM
Have tried to install the MioPocket version 2.0 release 2.8 with
no luck at getting it to run on my Mio Moov 360.
It starts with a dos like screen with the first line of data as you
would expect then bypasses the SD card and boots up the
Mio map screen and internal GPS program. Seems as though it
cant recognise the installer. Is anyone been able to get it to
function on the 360 or 370 series and is so when you rename
the two files what did you call them.? I tried what was
suggested in the readme file but no go. As a newbie to gps this
is my first attempt and only reason i am trying to get more out
of the unit is that the advertised features arent exactly as
advertised. IE= the speed warning only works in school zones or
to a manually pre set warning limit, it wont recognise any
normal road or highway speed limits to give warnings. :blah

Osprey
21st October 2008, 08:41 AM
NewbieExplorer,
Exit out of MioMap and pop the SD card out and back in. If that doesn't start installation, try putting the device into standby with the power button and waking it again. If it's still not working, try loading up MioMap, waiting for a GPS fix, then exiting before you try the previous steps. It's recently come to light that some Moovs require that first, for some reason.

Newbie Explorer
21st October 2008, 08:27 PM
Thanks for the suggestions buy tried it all to no go.
When i boot it it reads and displays the cobia version number
then bypasses the installer and goes to meomap.
Will go through what i did and if i did something wrong please
let me know. I coppied the files as the originals i downloaded
to the sd card which is an AData 2 gig then changed the names
to those suggested. One thing that confused me was the
wording saying to copy to the root of the card?? is this just
copying to the disk or do i need to do something different.
Also changed the names of two files to auto.exe and auto.msc
so am wondering if these files are not suited to the Australian
version. I also tried putting _au on the end of the cobia file
name but no change. Have tried all the suggestions so can
only assume the files are not correct or the Au model has
some differences that this wont work with. Also the sd card is
readable via the usb connection on the computer when
plugged into the Mio and as it reads the cobia version on start
i would say tha card is not the issue. Any more ideas please
let me know as will keep trying.

moov360
22nd October 2008, 09:06 AM
I have got MioPocket version 2.0 release 30 working with my Moov 360. The folder name you need to create is Cobia_420_64_AU.

Newbie Explorer
22nd October 2008, 07:29 PM
Thanks a million Moov360 i dont know if it is the new version
or what but i did try renaming the file before with _au and it
wouldnt work but the new version i downloaded installed and
is fully functional. many thanks and happy travels.
:best

Newbie Explorer
23rd October 2008, 05:19 PM
Have tested more of the features today and only about a third work. Keep getting error messages of missing .dll or .mscr files.
None of the media players will run and only a few games.
Will need some more research i would guess to get these all
up and running. Any advice on this is appreciated as all new
ground to me.

The Explorer
25th October 2008, 08:24 PM
Have tested more of the features today and only about a third work. Keep getting error messages of missing .dll or .mscr files.
None of the media players will run and only a few games.
Will need some more research i would guess to get these all
up and running. Any advice on this is appreciated as all new
ground to me.

Hello - it does state on the GPS passion website that not all features will work on some Mios (including Moov). Most importantly does OziExplorerCe work?

Cheers
Greg

Newbie Explorer
26th October 2008, 08:29 AM
No Oziexplorer.exe wont run. Message is, oziexplorerce.exe
was not found press ok to edit the path. NOTE says mio pocket
does not come with this app. Not to worry i would think that
the 360 range being a new product needs some more work to
get the miopocket program to work better. Windows CE seems
ok and can access all the menu's just a lot wont run. Most of
the messages say missing .dll or .mscr files. I Am in Brisbane
southside if you want to experement on my mio 360 some time.
As forums are detail private i have no idea where you live so
this may be a silly suggestion. The future will see more fixxes
i would think. Thanks anyway.

Osprey
31st October 2008, 07:20 AM
NewbieExplorer,
Your .mscr and .dll errors mean that installation didn't complete. You can try to troubleshoot it by putting a # sign in front of the "ErrorLevel" lines at the top of Auto.mscr and MioAutoRun\Scripts\Unlock.mscr.

As for OziExplorer, I don't see where the problem is. If you own it or have the trial installed, give MioPocket the path to it when asked. If you don't have it, then, obviously, it's not going to work.

rclo
28th December 2008, 09:39 AM
I can not make MioPocket work (yet), and am hoping for some advice. For my MOOV 300 I have loaded MioPocket 2.0 (Release 32) on to the root of a SanDisk 2GB card with a folder structure of Cobia_400_64_AU, Media, and MioAutorun. The Cobia folder has MioAutoRun.exe, MioAutoRun.mscr and MortScript.exe with the first two renamed to Auto.exe and Auto.msc as described in the MioPocket Readme.

I also tried renaming the Cobia file to Cobia_420_64_AU. I have tried the advice given by Osprey, "exit out of MioMap and pop the SD card out and back in. If that doesn't start installation, try putting the device into standby with the power button and waking it again. If it's still not working, try loading up MioMap, waiting for a GPS fix, then exiting before you try the previous steps. It's recently come to light that some Moovs require that first, for some reason." but nothing works yet.

Advice would be appreciated. :confused

Wahroonga Farm
28th December 2008, 10:53 AM
A Moov 300 works :)

http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=58340

rclo
29th December 2008, 09:20 AM
Thanks Wahroonga Farm. In the other forum Blokeman said "Spend a bit of time reading so you get through the install with all your hair.
No really, read it.."

He was right, I had renamed MioAutoRun.exe to Auto.exe.exe something that the readme file warned about. So fixed that, and MioPocket R33 works, although I have already found some features do not, as advised in the readme.

More work to do setting up GPS program links, MioMap on the flashdisk, and IGO 8 n the SD which seems a bit of a struggle at the moment, all good fun but. :prost

Wahroonga Farm
29th December 2008, 10:13 AM
Good work.

BTW, what folder name worked for your Aussie Moov?


4B) Mio Moov models only:
i. Create, in the root of your SD card, a folder with one of the following "Cobia" names, depending on your model (Example: \Storage Card\Cobia_400_64) (Note: filenames ARE case-sensitive):

* Moov 300 Europe: Cobia_400_64
* Moov 300 North America: Cobia_400_64_NA

rclo
29th December 2008, 12:32 PM
Cobia_400_64_AU for the Australian MOOV 300.

Wahroonga Farm
29th December 2008, 01:00 PM
Ta :hatoff

Rommeke
18th November 2010, 05:23 PM
Hello,

I want to install MioPocket on Mio Spirit 575 TMC on SD card. Could you give me the detailled instructions, which files where, which directory to be created in this case, ... ?
Thanks.

harv1
18th November 2010, 06:19 PM
Thanks Wahroonga Farm. In the other forum Blokeman said "Spend a bit of time reading so you get through the install with all your hair.
No really, read it.."

He was right, I had renamed MioAutoRun.exe to Auto.exe.exe something that the readme file warned about. So fixed that, and MioPocket R33 works, although I have already found some features do not, as advised in the readme.

More work to do setting up GPS program links, MioMap on the flashdisk, and IGO 8 n the SD which seems a bit of a struggle at the moment, all good fun but. :prost
I have a Mio Moov 300 from the States with Miopocket 4 running, Igo8 works ok but a verry unstable progame Miopocket,i have to do a reset every time i switch the gps on.
You can also use Navman unlock becauce the Mio Moov 300 is operated by Navman engine and software.
http://navmanunlocked.wikispaces.com/Unlock

Rommeke
18th November 2010, 06:25 PM
What's Igo8 ?
How to unlock on Mio Spirit 575 GPS ?

harv1
18th November 2010, 06:30 PM
What's Igo8 ?
How to unlock on Mio Spirit 575 GPS ?
http://www.navngo.com/pages/global/eng/igo_8_description

harv1
18th November 2010, 06:47 PM
Thanks Wahroonga Farm. In the other forum Blokeman said "Spend a bit of time reading so you get through the install with all your hair.
No really, read it.."

He was right, I had renamed MioAutoRun.exe to Auto.exe.exe something that the readme file warned about. So fixed that, and MioPocket R33 works, although I have already found some features do not, as advised in the readme.

More work to do setting up GPS program links, MioMap on the flashdisk, and IGO 8 n the SD which seems a bit of a struggle at the moment, all good fun but. :prost
Have a read here
http://www.austech.info/igo/33277-ultimate-new-igo8-thread-hollowman-feb-2010-a.html